Home > Uncategorized > Not sure if Audacity can be my GarageBand for Windows

Not sure if Audacity can be my GarageBand for Windows

I might be doing something wrong, but I could not get Audacity to work properly for me.  It seems to have the proper options for working with music, but when I pulled in an MP3 file, almost all of the useful menu items were grayed out.

One of the things that my kids wanted to do was to speed up some songs and mash them together.  I can see how to mash them together, but the option to change tempo wasn’t available.

Again, maybe I’m doing something wrong.  So far, this will not work as a GarageBand for Windows.

  1. Brian
    February 22, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Audacity does have the option to change pitch, tempo, etc. It is actually pretty robust, but by the same token, the interface is a little clumsy…which could be why you were having trouble finding the tools you were looking for. I have used Audacity for almost 2 years…for a free program, it’s been worth the effort. That said, I am looking for a little “meatier” GarageBand-esque replacement to try out.

  2. Wretch
    April 13, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Actually, those options are grayed out because to use them you must have a portion of the track selected; this means that these effects may be applied to selected parts of the track, which to me is more flexible than selecting a whole track to apply the effects on.

  3. Jin Oh
    April 26, 2008 at 5:45 am

    The new BETA works fine with tempo
    … you’ll have to mark a part of the song

  4. SkyNinja
    April 28, 2010 at 1:21 am

    You just did it wrong. To use the commands, you have to select part of or all of the track. It won’t work without a selection.

  5. January 31, 2011 at 10:04 am

    Actually, any effects you wish to apply can be done to any section on the recording if you highlight it. You can focus in on the smallest section of the track by zooming in. Highlight the area you want to work on, hit ctrl +1, and then apply the changes where you wish highlighting the exact section to change. All the options will be available when the track is highlighted.
    I personally love Audacity as there is nothing like it free for Windows. I use it often.

  6. February 3, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    I’ve had exactly this problem with Audacity, and highlighting areas doesn’t seem to solve it. I’m not sure whether it’s a problem for tracks that aren’t mp3-imports, but I can’t do anything, whether or not I have all or part of the track selected.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

